DID YOU KNOW that as of July 1, 2017, AZ employers are required to provide paid sick leave?
To help you better understand this new law, check out the FAQs below!
Q: Is sick leave required for all Arizona employees?
A: YES. ALL companies in Arizona with more than one employee must offer sick leave to its employees, including part-time, temporary, and seasonal workers.
Q: Which employers are subject to the law?
A: All employers in Arizona. If you act directly or indirectly in the interest of an employee, it applies to you.
Q: How should sick leave be accrued?
A: Employees begin accruing one (1) hour of sick leave for every 30 hours worked. Accrual will begin as of July 1, 2017 or date of hire, whichever is first.
Q: How much sick leave can be accrued in a year.
A: It depends on the size of the company.
- Companies with <15 employees: Accrue and use up to 40 hours of sick leave/year
- Companies with >15 employees: Accrue and use up to 24 hours of sick leave/year
- Note: Unused sick leave can be carried over to the next year, subject to limitations.
Q: Are there notice requirements for employees and employers?
- Employees: should follow the employer's written policy while requesting sick leave.
- Employers: must provide written notice to employees as to their rights and responsibilities on the date of hire, or July 1, 2017, whichever is later.
For more information, visit the Arizona Industrial Commission's FAQ sheet here.